Introduction

• This is an introduction thread where people can make a post to introduce themselves to the rest of the community.

My name is Dave Hylands. I’m a software developer by profession, and I currently work for Mozilla on FirefoxOS.

I’m keenly interested in robotics, and all of the side-disciplines associated with that, like electronics, metal-working, wood-working, and recently, 3D-printing.

You can follow most of what I’m doing by taking a look at my website: http://www.davehylands.com/ and more recently I’ve started a blog: http://blog.davehylands.com/

My background is Digital Systems Design, and I’ve been programming with embedded systems of one type or another for most of my career.

My favorite operating system is Linux.

• Ah sure I’ll bite.

My name’s Alex Bruce. I’m a jr software dev working at the KIC on a project called “Spire”.

Software engineering is my area of interest, toy and non-toy languages. I know how to work non-linear video editors and graphical 3d software, so virtual effects are a passtime of mine as well.

I am all the negative things that are associated with people who use Arch Linux.

I wear a noggin wrap.

• Hello! My name is Amanda and I am the Client Engagement and Communications Officer for Kamloops Innovation, also known as KIC in short. In a nutshell, I’m the event coordinator and social media marketer for KIC - I am helping with some of the maker events coming up. If you have any ideas for new events or feedback from the ones we have had already please give me a shout :)