Various art-related ideas

• Hey, everyone! I got my key for the Makerspace earlier, and on the walk back to my place, I had quite a few ideas rolling around in my head. Figured the timing was great for a post about them.

1. I’m thinking about starting a consortium of artists here in Kamloops, with the idea being that artists and creative enthusiasts of all backgrounds would met periodically to brainstorm ideas as to how we could use our skills and interests to make Kamloops a better place for everyone. I know there’s a big artist collective here, and the Makerspace fulfills a bit of the consortium idea at least to an extent; however, the Makerspace seems more like a place where people get together and work on their own projects from what I gather so far. I’m envisioning something on a grander, more holistic scale, like perhaps a big charity event once in a while, involving collaboration with a wide array of non-profits and causes in the area.

I’m actually pretty new to Kamloops, having moved here from th US in mid-October of last year, so I’m still in the process of getting settled and figuring out what goes on here and how things are different from the US. Corrections and directions from people here are encouraged and most welcome!