Sheet Metal anybody?

• Founder

I’m looking to make a magnetic board that I can pin things on and magnetize things to. A Kind of vision board/outside-of-my-body-memory thing.

I hate white boards for various reasons. Being a waldorf teacher I have done the chalk thing, and I’m sure me and my son will be doing chalk art in the future. But as far as day to day use, I’m not a teacher anymore, and having hands constantly covered in chalk dust is an experience I am glad to have behind me. I had hoped that touch screens would work, but it just isn’t the same as having that tactile thing that is always on, charged up, logged in and in plain view.

My first thought is the dump. But apparently there is a company with the contract to recycle steel, and they have cornered that market. Which is bs. I’ll be complaining to the city in the future about that.

I checked the steel racks at Princess Auto. I think the sheets they have are 24x48", and are super thin, $45. Seems steep, although I know wood, not metal so I have no idea. All I know is that there is a huge pile of old appliances at the dump that would be free, so $45 seems steep.

Barring those two options, does anybody have an old appliance that they want to have salvaged? Or some other piece of scrap metal? I’d be willing to pay the PA price for somebody’s steel. I just see it as ridiculous that I have to wait for all of those appliances to be shipped, crushed, melted down, reformed, shipped, and sold to me for $45.

And do we have the technology at the space to cut that steel more or less nice and shapely? So it looks nice on my wall? Cause I have no idea how to do that.

Thanks!

• Metal

We do in fact have the tools and ability to cut sheet metal into any shape you want. What size of a white board are you looking for? There are several old appliances listed for free on kijiji, we could chop up an old washer or fridge or something.

• Linux