Farm Incubator/ New Farmer meet up

• Holder

Total farming noob here, just want to make a living growing and selling… but how do I get there?

I’m trying to organize a bit of a discussion around the plan to develop a Farm Incubator in Kamloops, and address the some of the challenges that most new farmer will face in their first years.

Farm Incubators facilitate new farmers with training programs, business planning and access to land. The viability and success of this program is important to our regional food security, and will make a world of difference to those entertaining the idea of this type of career.

In particular, the Farm incubator program will need to develop methods to generate long term soil fertility on less than ideal (or contaminated) land. This includes developing strategies for contaminant removal/neutralization, and ongoing soil tests to ensure appropriate amendments are added.

The proposed site at the TCC Ranch is contaminated land, and may require a multi year reclamation plan before it becomes safe for food production. Planning and implementing this approach will require significant volunteer hours, and this presents the challenge of ongoing committed group involvement.

Central to this program will be the development of a training model, which tries to address the needs of mentor and trainee. Creating a well structured training farm will require organized planting schedules, work delegation, crop rotation, etc. Building model intensive farms with which to train new applicants would allow for a more consistent training method, and this may also help the program to generate a revenue stream year to year

Thursday January 14, 2016 there is an Agriculture Land Leasing Workshop being held in Kamloops, and if there seems to be an interest perhaps we could book a date, later in the month for some group disscussion.

Cheers.

• This post is deleted!

• Hi Jason- did we meet at the KFPC meeting the other night? I will be attending the