Makerspace Design Lab proposal

• Design Lab

First of all, I would like to say that I really love what you all have put together at the Makerspace. Having been involved with many different groups of creative people, I can understand the motivation and work it has taken to get to where Makerspace is and I have a ton of respect for it.

I have come to open houses and participated in several workshops there and have been wondering how I could get involved and enhance the community. I am very interested in 3D printing, woodwork, Arduino and more, but professionally I am a graphic designer, sculptor and mural artist (Google me and check my facebook artist page or my website to see my work).

I would like to propose the development of a Makerspace Design Lab in one of the empty upstairs rooms to the MakerSpace.

The Design Lab would be a common shared space, be quiet and relatively dust-free, and would eventually include:

Computer(s)
    Printer(s)
    Vinyl cutter(s)
    Scanner(s)
    Light table
    Layout/signmaking table (including premask station)
    Drafting table
    Reference library
    A couch?

• plus other capabilities as they become available.

I can supply most of that right away – most notably my 24” Roland vinyl cutter. I would like to build a light table for the space in the woodshop.

I would obviously become a key holding member and would gladly ‘lead the charge’ on developing the Design Lab for all to use. I have years of vinyl cutting experience and would share that capability freely, and look forward to being an active participant in the day to day development of the community. I have quite a lot of experience in non-profits and community groups and would gladly share my contacts and abilities with the space, including doing workshops if that was of interest.

So, that is the basic proposal. If this is something Makerspace is interested in, please let me know and we can take a closer look at the details. I would be ready to go May 1st.