welding ideas

• Linux

I am brand new to this, and looking for some practical ideas to try out my welder. I got it to do some body work on my car, but will likely not be the one actually operating it for that procedure. But I want to play!!

Is there a local source of cheap steel to play with? What do I look for? What should I make? And, how do I figure out how strong any given steel/weld is? Thanks!

Learning and working on learning more!

• @hdsheena i buy steel at the scrap steel yard on Ord Road. They have an area you can pick through and a scale, you pay by the pound. Stainless steel and aluminum should be avoided as they require special equipment and or techniques. Pretty much any hot or cold rolled mild steel scrap will work. Mig welding requires a clean surface free of contaminants for a strong weld. A hand held grinder with a flap disk works well for prepping the surface. One good source of scrap steel I have found is old bed frames, they are a crap shoot with regards to what they are made of but can often be found for free.

• Linux

Any advice for recognising proper steel vs other metals (galv, alum, stainless, other…?) When finding scrap?

• A magnet will definitely weed out aluminium and other non ferrous metals as they are not magnetic. You will defiantly notice galvanized as it has a fairly distinct look, however I would avoid any coated metal so you do not have the headache and danger of grinding paint or other coating off to weld. If you do look up the safe procedures for grinding and heating these materials. If the material is uncoated it is quite easy to tell the difference between stainless and raw steel as raw steel will show some signs of corrosion.

• Linux

Rusty, magnetic, uncoated. Should be easy enough?

• Linux

I now have a hat and some help thanks to @Nicholas , @arasbm and Aaron, whose user name I don’t even know. Now I just need to put in the time :)

• Linux