Need to make an odd spring or two

• I have an idea that requires a rather unusual spring or two. I would probably need to bend this from wire, as I don’t think there is anything already available that would work. I have no experience in this so would like to talk to someone who could brainstorm with me and give me some ideas of how I might go about doing this. Let me know if you have any experience to offer.

Thanks a lot.

Lawrence\)

• There are many people here that could potentially help. Can you provide some sketches or dimensions and specs about what you trying to do? Also make sure to take a look in our box of springs. We have taken lots of strange springs out of printers and other things we have hacked.

• I have some music wire in a few sizes you could use. I can show you how to set up the lathe to wind springs depending on your specifications.

You should probably look at this article:
    http://www.deansphotographica.com/machining/projects/springs/springs.html

It outlines the parameters you need to watch to get a given result.

• Arasbm:

Okay, I was avoiding this because I don’t know the nomenclature, but have since looked it up. This is approximate, as I am not sure what will be needed in the end, and it will depend on experimentation to be sure, but for now, in broad strokes, I need:

A linear compression spring with closed square ends (the latter not so important).

Spring measurements:
    Free length: 500 cm
    compressed length: 45 cm
    inside diameter/rod diameter: 20mm
    material size: 1mm

For now, the direction of wind does not matter. Later, I may end up needing two, the second one being of the opposite direction of wind to the first.

… I told you it was an ODD spring! With what I had in mind I did a little lol when you suggested that I look through the box of printer springs…

:-D

Lawrence

• LOL! We have a lot of odd springs in the hack room, but yes I do not think we have any 5m long springs just laying around.